Air Liquide announces the composition of the jury for its “Essential Small Molecules” scientific contest

March 23, 2016

Air Liquide announces today the composition of the jury that in September 2016 will hand out the “Air Liquide Essential Molecules Challenge” Award.

The jury, chaired by François Darchis, Senior Vice-President, member of the Air Liquide group’s Executive Committee, supervising Innovation, has seven members, two of whom are eminent, internationally renowned scientists, and four Air Liquide experts, named “Fellows” in connection with the Group’s internal recognition program:

  • Professor Jean-Marie Lehn, Professor at the Institute of Advanced Study of the University of Strasbourg and founder of the Institute of Supramolecular Science and Engineering, Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1987.
  • Professor Vivian Wing-Wah Yam, Chair Professor, Philip Wong Wilson Wong Professor in Chemistry and Energy at the University of Hong Kong, member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA, L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards laureate in 2011.
  • Professor Régis Reau, Air Liquide R&D Scientific Director, “Fellow”, Professor at the University of Rennes 1, France.
  • Doctor Ashutosh Misra, Air Liquide Electronics business Chief Technology Officer, “Fellow”, PhD in Physical Chemistry.
  • Doctor Hervé Barthélemy, Air Liquide Authority for gas packaging and storage, Chairman of ISO Technical Committees, “Fellow”, PhD in Materials Science.
  • Doctor Thomas Wurzel, ‎Air Liquide Global E&C Solutions Director, Downstream & Petrochemical Product Line, “Fellow”, PhD in Chemistry.

The Air Liquide Essential Molecules Challenge is open to academic teams, private Research & Development, start-ups, private or public institutes. They are invited to submit, until April 28, 2016, proposals for scientific breakthroughs on themes related to hydrogen, oxygen, and carbon dioxide molecules in particular.

The Air Liquide Scientific Award, which includes a cash prize of € 50,000 will be given to each winner. In addition, the Group will further fund up to € 1.5 million in joint collaborations with the laureates to mature their scientific proposals into market technologies.

For more information on the Air Liquide Essential Molecules Challenge: click here.